Real Academia de Ciencias Exactas, Físicas y Naturales
Nació en Bad Homburg (Alemania), el 24 de marzo de 1952 Nombrado el 24 de febrero de 2010

Curriculum abreviado

Managing Director at the Max-Planck-Institut für extraterrestrische Physik, Garching,Germany, and Scientific Member of the Max-Planck Society, Full Professor in the Physics Department of the University of California, Berkeley, California, USA, Honorary Professor at the Ludwig-Maximilian University, Munich, Germany.

Main Research Interests

Massive black holes and star formation in galaxies, Galactic Center, galaxy formation and evolution, infrared/submillimeter spectroscopy and high resolution imaging, spatial interferometry.

Educational Background

1975: Diploma in physics, Physics and Astronomy Department, University of Bonn, Germany.
1978: Ph.D. in physics and astronomy, University of Bonn: Ph.D. thesis in radio astronomy (interstellar masers) at the Max-Planck-Institut für Radioastronomie, Bonn.

Employment Background

1978-80: Postdoctoral Fellow, Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics Postdoctoral Fellow, Cambridge, Massachusetts.
1980-82: Miller Fellow University of California, Berkeley.
1981-85: Associate Professor, Department of Physics, and Associate Research Astronomer, Space Sciences Laboratory, University of California, Berkeley.
1985-86: Full Professor of Physics, University of California, Berkeley since.
1986: Director at the Max-Planck-Institut für extraterrestrische Physik, Garching (Germany), and Scientific Member of the Max-Planck Society.
1987-1999: Visiting Professor, Department of Physics, University of California, Berkeley.
Since 1988: Honorary Professor at the Ludwig-Maximilian-Universität, Munich (Germany).
Since 1999: Full Professor, Department of Physics, University of California, Berkeley.

Awards and Honors

1973: Scholarship of the "Studienstiftung des Deutschen Volkes"
1980: Otto Hahn Medal of the Max-Planck Society for the Year 1978.
1980: Miller Fellowship, University of California, Berkeley.
1984: Presidential Young Investigators Award.
1985: Fellow, American Physical Society.
1986: Newton Lacy Pierce Prize, American Astronomical Society.
1990: Leibniz Prize of the German Science Foundation (DFG).
1998: Foreign Member, Académie des Sciences (France).
2000: de Vaucouleurs Medal, University of Texas, Austin.
2000: Foreign Associate, US National Academy of Sciences.
2000: Janssen Prize, Société Astronomique de France.
2002: Member of the German Academy of Natural Sciences Leopoldina, Halle, Germany.
2002: Member of the European Academy of Sciences.
2003: Stern-Gerlach-Medal of the German Physical Society (DPG).
2003: Member of the Bavarian Academy of Sciences.
2003: Balzan Prize for Infrared Astronomy, Switzerland.
2005: Petrie Prize, Canadian Astronomical Society, Canada.
2007: Einstein-Medaille der Albert-Einstein Gesellschaft (AEG), Bern, Switzerland.
2008: Shaw Prize, The Shaw Prize Foundation, Hong Kong.
2009: Premio Galileo, Fondazione Premio Galileo 2000, Firenze, Italy.
2010: Honorary Doctorate, Leiden University, Leiden, Netherlands.
2010: Foreign Corresponding Member, Royal Spanish Academy of Exact Sciences, Physics and Chemistry, Madrid, Spain.
2011: Karl Schwarzschild Prize, Astronomische Gesellschaft (AG) (German Astronomical Society).

Prize Lectures

1987: Spring Lecturer, Princeton University.
1998: Kingsley Professor, Caltech (California Institute of Technology).
1998: Lyman Spitzer Lecturer, Princeton University.
2000: Sackler Lecturer, Princeton University.
2000: Oort Professor, University of Leiden/NL.
2004: Iben Lecturer, University of Illinois.
2005: Rossi Lecturer, Arcetri (Astrophysical Observatory), Italy.
2005: Grubb Parsons Lecturer, University of Durham, UK.
2006: Celsius Lecture, University of Uppsala, Sweden.
2007: Einstein Medal of the Albert-Einstein Society (AEG), Berne, Switzerland.
2007: George Darwin Lecture, Royal Astronomical Society, London, UK.
2008: Bishop Lecture, Columbia University, USA.
2008: Sackler Lecture, University of Cambridge, UK.
2009: Svein Rosseland Lecture, University of Oslo, Oslo.
2010: Cecelia Payne-Gaposhkin Lecture, Harvard Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics, Cambridge, USA.
2010: Jansky Lecturer, National Radio Astronomy Observatory, Charlottesville, USA.
2011: Karl-Schwarzschild-Medal of the German Astronomical Society (AG), Germany.

Current Service

Member, IRAM Executive Council, Grenoble, France.
Member of several Visiting Committees: National Radio Astronomy Observatory (NRAO, USA), Harvard University Astronomy Departement (Cambridge), USA, ASIAA (Taiwan).
Member, several hiring committees of the Max Planck Society, Germany.
Member, UCB Space Sciences Advisory Committee, Berkeley, USA.
Member, ESO Extremely Large Telescope Standing Review Committee, Garching, Germany Member, External Review Board Thirty Meter Telescope Project.
Reviewer, Astrophysical Journal, Astronomy & Astrophysics, German Science Foundation (DFG); US National Science Foundation; NOVA (The Netherlands); German Academy Leopoldina; Swiss National Fond; Smithsonian Institution; Swedish Research Council; Australian Research Council.


University of California, Berkeley, Dept. of Physics.
International Research School for Astrophysics at the University of Munich (IMPRS).